Skip Main Navigation

Workshops

The Counseling Department offers informational workshops to educate students and assist them in reaching their academic/career goals.  See below for more details.    

Educational Planning Workshops (EPW)

All students are required to complete a first semester plan.  Hancock Promise students are encouraged to attend a Launch to College Event.  Each local high school will have a designated event.  All other students are encouraged to stop by the counseling department on a drop-in to complete your first semester plan.  The counseling team will make sure you get off to a good start! 

University Transfer Center Workshops

The University Transfer Center (UTC) provides informative workshops to assist students in the transfer process. View a list of scheduled workshops.

Grades Matter Workshop

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students understand his/her academic and/or progress standing.  Students will learn strategies to get back on track and regain good standing with the college.  The workshop will also cover the consequences of being on probation such as unit limitation, financial aid eligibility, and priority registration.  Students who receive a probation email notification are strongly encouraged to attend the workshop.

Santa Maria Campus
February 18 Tuesday 11-12 p.m. A-403
March 11 Wednesday 11-12 p.m. A-403
April 14 Tuesday 2-3 p.m. A-403
May 13 Wednesday 11-12 p.m. A-403
Lompoc Valley Center
February 11 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 2-104
March 25 Wednesday 3-4 p.m. Bldg 2-101
April 14 Tuesday 4-5 p.m. Bldg 2-101
May 15 Friday 10-11 a.m. Bldg 2-101

Time Management Workshop

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students enrich their time management skills.  The workshop will provide students with tools and guidance and learn how to use their time more effectively.  In addition, this workshop will cover common obstacles to effective time management that will help students assess their won time and priorities.

Santa Maria Campus
January 29 Wednesday 12-1:30 p.m. A-103
February 12 Wednesday 3-4:30 p.m. A-403
February 21 Friday 12-1:30 p.m. A-103
March 11 Wednesday 1:30-3 p.m. A-403
March 27 Friday 12-1:30 p.m. K-11C 
April 15 Wednesday 3-4:30 p.m. H-104
April 24 Friday 12-1:30 p.m. H-104
Lompoc Valley Center
February 24 Monday 12-1:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104
March 23 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104
April 20 Monday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104

Study Skills Workshop

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students develop/improve their study skills.  The workshop will also provide an activity that focuses on self-awareness and how it may relate to study styles/habits.  By attending this workshop, students will learn strategies to perform better and be successful in and out of the classroom.

Santa Maria Campus
January 27 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. A-403
February 3 Monday 12-1:30 p.m. A-403
February 20 Thursday 3-4:30 p.m. A-403
March 5 Thursday 1:30-3 p.m. A-403
March 26 Thursday 12-1:30 p.m. K-11C 
April 9 Thursday 3-4:30 p.m. A-403
April 20 Monday 12-1:30 p.m. A-403
Lompoc Valley Center
February 10 Monday 12-1:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104
March 9 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104
April 6 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104

Hancock Nursing Workshop

During the nursing workshops you will learn about our CNA, LVN, and RN requirements. This includes, prerequisites, application deadlines, AHC graduation requirements, the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) requirements, and nursing priority registration. This workshop is intended for all students interested in AHC's nursing program. Prior to attending the workshop, students are required to complete an AHC admission application. In addition, students will receive an abbreviated Student Education Plan.

Santa Maria Campus
January 29 Wednesday  12-1 p.m. A-403
February 11 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. A-403
March 11 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. A-403
April 9 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-403
May 15 Friday 12-1 p.m. A-403
Lompoc Valley Center
February 21 Friday 2:30-3:30 p.m. Bldg 2-104
April 27 Monday 10:30-11:30 a.m. Bldg 2-104

Pathways to a Bachelor's of Science in Nursing (BSN) Workshop

Interested in transferring to a BSN program? Attend this workshop and learn more about the following routes to a BSN program:
* Basic Nursing or Pre Licensure program
* LVN to BSN
* ADN (RN) to BSN

In addition, you will learn about common prerequisites, CSU and UC general education requirements, admission application deadlines, and TEAS testing.

Santa Maria Campus
January 28 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. A-403
February 25 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. A-403
March 23 Monday 12-1 p.m. A-403
April 23 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-403
May 8 Friday 12-1 p.m. A-403
Lompoc Valley Center
March 3 Tuesday 2-3 p.m. Bldg 2-104
April 15 Wednesday 2-3 p.m. Bldg 2-101