Skip Main Navigation

Out-of-State Residents

Many states require an authorization process for out-of-state institutions to provide online courses to its state residents. States set up agreements of authorization with out-of-state institutions to ensure consumer protection and also safeguard post-secondary education quality in courses and degrees.

Every state has similar, but different, minimum standards that must be met by the institution before that institution is permitted to provide online courses for residents of that state. Each institution must work with the states laws and regulations to procure an authorization agreement.

Allan Hancock College is working to procure agreements with all 50 states and its territories. In the following list of states, Allan Hancock College has been granted authorizations, exemptions, and waivers. Students from these states can register for our online courses.

Arizona Illinois Nevada Tennessee
Colorado Iowa New Jersey Texas
Connecticut* Louisiana North Carolina Vermont
District of Columbia* Maine Ohio Virginia
Florida Mississippi Oklahoma Washington
Kansas* Montana Pennsylvania West Virginia
Hawaii Nebraska South Carolina Wisconsin
Idaho New Hampshire South Dakota  


Allan Hancock College is NOT authorized to  provide online education in the states below. Please check back later to see if authorization has been granted.

Alabama Indiana Minnesota Rhode Island
Alaska Kentucky Missouri Utah
Arkansas Maryland New York Wyoming
Delaware Massachusetts Oregon  
Georgia Michigan Pennsylvania