Skip Main Navigation


Executive Council

President - Alberto Restrepo

Vice President - Fred Patrick

Secretary - Nancy Jo Ward

At Large - Ana Gomez De Torres

At Large - Thesa Roepke


Applied Behavioral Sciences (7)

  • Thesa Roepke

Business (5)

  • Bob Bryant

Counseling/Personal Development (24)

  • Juanita Tuan
  • Maria Arvizu-Rodriguez
  • Lainey Campos

DSPS/LAP/College Nurse (7)

  • Kerry Runkle

English (20)

  • Vacant
  • Melanie Guido Brunet
  • Jennifer Jozwiak

Fine Arts (13)

  • Chris Diaz
  • Chris Hite

Health Sciences (11)

  • Martha Hull
  • Michelle Lehne

Industrial Technology (6)

  • Eric Mason

Kinesiology, Recreation, Athletics (6)

  • Tyson Aye/Chris Stevens/Kris Dutra

Languages and Communication (7)

  • Claudia Diaz

Life and Physical Sciences (13)

  • Alicia Fox
  • Alfredo Koch

Mathematics and Engineering (17)

  • Liz West
  • Krystyna Musev

Part-Time Faculty

  • Rajni Chaudhari
  • Monique Segura
  • Myra McGill

Public Safety (5)

  • Ken George 

Social and Behavioral Sciences (10)

  • Jessica Scarffe

It is the belief of the Academic Senate that the college's capacity to serve the student will be strengthened by greater involvement in institutional planning by that sector of the college community that is closest to the student, the instructor. Furthermore, it is the aspiration of the senate that this involvement will be an integral part of the continuous assessment and improvement of the college's methods of serving the student. Finally, it is assumed that collective involvement will create a broader repository of institutional philosophy and methods of implementing these goals, thus increasing the stability and continuity of these goals and methods, and making them less sensitive to change in key personnel.

The effectiveness of faculty contributions to institutional policy development is predicated not only on the quality of the contribution, but also on the extent to which the contribution truly is a part of the policy development process. This does not confer policy-making power on this contributor, nor does it confer immunity from rejection of their ideas. But, it does make them a member of the policy developing apparatus.

The Assembly Concurrent Resolution No. 48 and subsequent state regulations on community college senates define senate membership criteria, which accommodates community of interest. This is necessary foundation to representative inter-group communication. No group or organization can be representative of a community of interest, which is not selected by and answerable to that community of interest.

The Allan Hancock College Board of Trustees specifically addresses Academic Senate's responsibility in shared governance. See a link to current board policy below.

AHC Board Policy on Shared Governance