Skip Main Navigation

Counseling Team

We're a team, your success team!

The Counseling Team are here to help you find your way through AHC and support you in completing your educational goals.  The Counseling Team are all available to serve you. 

At AHC, you are not assigned a counselor.  We recommend you find a counselor you work well with.  You may see any counselor, the choice is yours!

Yvonne Teniente-Cuello, Dean of Student Services
(pronouns: Her, Hers, She)

Oversees the Counseling Department

805-922-6966 ext. 3631
yteniente@hancockcollege.edu 

Counselors are here to help you get on the right path to reach your academic and career goals.  Counselors can assist you with developing a Student Education Plan, Transfer Planning, Career Planning, Campus and Community Referrals, Academic Standing Counseling, and Student Success Strategies.

You have two ways to schedule a counseling appointment.  

  1. Call the Counseling Department at 805-922-6966 ext.3293, or
  2. Use the Successnet link below to schedule an appointment.

BOOK A COUNSELING APPOINTMENT

 

Cynthia Diaz
Department Chair/Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.3708
cdiaz@hancockcollege.edu

Héctor Álvarez 
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3462
halvarez@hancockcollege.edu 

Maria Arvizu-Rodriguez
University Transfer Counselor

805-922-6966 et.3210
marvizurodriguez@hancockcollege.edu 

Ashley Brackett
University Transfer Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3549
abrackett@hancockcollege.edu 

Ben Britten
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3942
benjamin.britten@hancockcollege.edu

Lainey Campos 
Athletics Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.3449
lainey.campos@hancockcollege.edu 

Clint Freeland
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3565
cfreeland@hancockcollege.edu 

Beverly Garcia
General Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.3685

bgarcia@hancockcollege.edu

David Hernandez
Career Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3707
dhernandez@hancockcollege.edu 

José Millán
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3678
jmillan@hancockcollege.edu 

 

Mayra Morales
Non-Credit Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3336
mmorales@hancockcollege.edu 

Krystle Navarrette
Career Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3811
krystle.navarrette@hancockcollege.edu 

Ricardo Navarrette
Puente Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3634
ricardo.navarrette@hancockcollege.edu 

Edulado Peña-Rico
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3814
edulado.penaric@hancockcollege.edu 

Carissa Perales
General Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.5261

chernandez@hancockcollege.edu

Antonio Ramirez
General Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.5268

antonio.ramirez12@hancockcollege.edu 

Veronica Sánchez
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3429
vsanchez@hancockcollege.edu

Brooke Souza
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3838
bsouza@hancockcollege.edu 

Julie Vasques
General Counselor

805-922-6966 ext.3366
jvasques@hancockcollege.edu 

Dayana Zepeda De Rosas
Non-Credit Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.3743
dayana.zepeda@hancockcollege.edu 

Christina Wright-Morgan
General Counselor
805-922-6966 ext.3702

christin.wright@hancockcollege.edu

  

Counseling Assistants

Assists with: Processing counseling appeals (pre/co-requisite, excessive course attempt, College Now, concurrent enrollment, and requests for excess units), coordinates Launch to College events, and other orientation events.

Monica Maldonado
805-922-6966 ext.3846
monica.maldonado@hancockcollege.edu 

Raquel Orozco
805-922-6966 ext.3625
raquel.orozco@hancockcollege.edu

 


Retention Specialists

Assists with: Providing support to students through the Early Alert and Probation Program.

Sara Galindo
805-922-6966 ext.3237
sara.galindo@hancockcollege.edu 

Gemma Garcia
805-922-6966 ext.3783
gemma.garcia@hancockcollege.edu 


Outreach Specialists

Assist with: Providing support to Hancock Promise students with the admission and class registration process, provide general financial aid information, process concurrent enrollment and College Now paperwork from the local high schools, and assist with outreach activities.

Carlos Escobedo
805-922-6966 ext.3632
carlos.escobed@hancockcollege.edu 

Oscar Escobedo
805-922-6966 ext.3632 
oscar.escobedo1@hancockcollege.edu 

Patricia Prado-Rios
805-922-6966 ext.3198
patricia.pradorios@hancockcollege.edu 


Administrative Support

Pablo Andrade-Arreloa 
Administrative Assistant II
Provides support to the Counseling Department.

805-922-6966 ext.3631
pablo.andradearreola@hancockcollege.edu 

Hanali Tapia-Palacios
Administrative Assistant III
Provides support to the Dean of Student Services.

805-922-6966 ext.3633
htapiapalacios@hancockcollege.edu